Julian Wagstaff

Hören Sie sich Auszüge von Julian Wagstaffs Theater-, Kammer- und Orchestermusik an
(9 Minuten insgesamt):


Wichtige aktuelle Projekte:

Breathe Freely (Frei Atmen) - eine 'Chemie-Oper' von Julian Wagstaff. Deutscher Text von Julius Seyfarth

The Turing Test - eine Kammeroper

das große Musical über den Helden der amerikanischen Revolution

Jules Reed - Schottischer Liedermacher und Gitarrist

Klicken Sie auf eines der Banner, um auf die (englische) Website
des jeweiligen Projekts zu gelangen.


Klicken Sie auf das untenstehende Bild, um Julian Wagstaffs Werkverzeichnis
herunterzuladen (PDF-Datei auf Englisch, 12 Seiten):

Schottischer Komponist Julian Wagstaff - Werke

Home Button Music Button Contact Button Concerts Button Biography Links Button
Wilkommen Titel Julian Wagstaff website in English
Sign up to composer Julian Wagstaff's mailing list Visit composer Julian Wagstaff's channel on YouTube Listen to Julian Wagstaff on SoundCloud

Der Komponist Julian Wagstaff wurde 1970 in Edinburgh geboren.

Er arbeitete zunächst als deutsch-englischer Übersetzer und Dolmetscher, Programmierer und Rechercheur beim Fernsehen, bevor er sich in den späten neunziger Jahren professionell der Musik widmete. Sein Interesse an Sprachen, Politikgeschichte und Wissenschaft spiegelt sich in großen Teilen seiner Musik und seiner Theaterstücke wider.

Sein erstes großes Werk war das Musical John Paul Jones (2001), das auf dem Leben des schottischen Seemanns und Helden der Amerikanischen Revolution beruht. Darin zeichnete sich bereits Julians vielseitiger kompositorischer Stil ab (der oft die Verwendung mehrerer verschiedener Stile innerhalb eines Werkes beinhaltet). Dieser Stil sollte in späteren Werken wie der Sinfonie für Kammerorchester (2005) noch reifen. John Paul Jones wurde 2010 in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Scottish Chamber Orchestra neu und professionell als Konzertversion aufgesetzt.

Auf Grundlage der Partitur für John Paul Jones wurde der Komponist an der Universität von Edinburgh für das Fach Komposition bei Professor Nigel Osborne zugelassen. 2002 erhielt er dort seinen Master-Abschluss in Musik, 2008 einen Doktortitel in musikalischer Komposition für seine Kammeroper The Turing Test, die er für das Edinburgh Fringe Festival 2007 geschrieben hatte. Während seines Aufbaustudiums war Wagstaff Gründungspräsident des Edinburgh University Composers' Orchestra [Komponistenorchester].

Julian Wagstaffs besonderes Interesse an deutscher Geschichte spiegelt sich in seinem meistgespielten Stück Treptow für Streichorchester (2005) wider. Das atmosphärische und schwermütige Stück wurde vom Sowjetischen Ehrenmal Treptower Park in Ost-Berlin inspiriert und steht für den Versuch des Komponisten, die Kraft dieses großartigen Denkmals mit Musik zu erfassen. Treptow gewann 2005 den Emre-Araci-Preis.

2011 wurde Julian Wagstaff vom örtlichen Verband der Royal Society of Chemistry beauftragt, ein neues Stück zur Feier des Internationalen Jahrs der Chemie zu komponieren. Das Werk mit dem Titel A Persistent Illusion wurde im Dezember desselben Jahres zum ersten Mal vom Hebrides Ensemble aufgeführt. Im Jahr 2013 ernannte die School of Chemistry der Universität Edinburgh Julian Wagstaff zum Composer in Residence. Seine Oper Breathe Freely wurde im selben Jahr in Zusammenarbeit mit der Scottish Opera aufgeführt und im Jahr 2014 aufgenommen. Die CD erschien 2015 auf dem Label Linn Records.

Julian lebt in Edinburgh und ist dort als Komponist, Arrangeur, Gitarrist und Musiklehrer tätig. Er pflegt gute Beziehungen zu vielen von Schottlands bekanntesten Musikern und seine Kompositionen und Arrangements wurden von Schottlands Top-Ensembles gespielt und aufgenommen, unter anderem vom Edinburgh Quartet, dem Scottish Chamber Orchestra, der Scottish Opera, dem Royal Scottish National Orchestra, dem Consort of Voices und dem Hebrides Ensemble. Wagstaff ist beim Verlag Europa Edition unter Vertrag, seine Musik erscheint bei Linn Records und Circular Records. Außerdem ist er Mitglied beim Scottish Music Centre, der British Academy of Composer und Songwriters and PRS for Music.

Listen to Julian Wagstaff on SoundCloud

Julian Wagstaff's MySpace page Julian Wagstaff's Facebook page (auto-generated) Julian Wagstaff at the British Academy of Composers

Julian Wagstaff biography at the Scottish Music Centre

Julian Wagstaff

Major current projects:

Breathe Freely - a 'chemistry opera' by Julian Wagstaff

Jules Reed - Scottish Singer/Songwriter and Guitarist

John Paul Jones - epic musical about the American Revolutionary hero

The Turing Test opera - Support the UK Tour 2013!

Click a banner above for more information.
Julian Wagstaff Logo Bar
Home Button Music Button Contact Button Concerts Button Biography Links Button
Welcome title
Sign up to composer Julian Wagstaff's mailing list Visit composer Julian Wagstaff's channel on YouTube Listen to Julian Wagstaff on SoundCloud

Julian Wagstaff was born in Edinburgh in 1970. He worked as a translator and interpreter in the German language, as well as a television researcher and computer programmer, before turning to music as a profession in the late 1990s. His interest in language, political history and the sciences continues to be reflected in much of his music and in his theatre writing.

His first major work was the musical John Paul Jones (2001), based on the life of the Scots-born sailor and hero of the American Revolution. In it, Julian's eclectic compositional style (which frequently involves the integration of several very different styles within one work) began to emerge. This style was to reach greater maturity in later works such as the Symphony for Chamber Orchestra (2005). John Paul Jones was revived professionally as a concert version in 2010, in association with the Scottish Chamber Orchestra.

On the basis of the score for John Paul Jones, the composer was accepted to study composition at the University of Edinburgh with Professor Nigel Osborne. He was awarded a Masters degree in music from that institution in 2002, and a PhD in musical composition in 2008, the principal component of which was a chamber opera entitled The Turing Test, written for the 2007 Edinburgh Festival Fringe. While a postgraduate student, Julian was the founding president of the Edinburgh University Composers' Orchestra.

Julian Wagstaff's specific interest in German history is reflected in Treptow for string orchestra (2005), his most-performed work. This atmospheric and haunting piece was inspired by the Soviet war memorial in Treptower Park in east Berlin, and represents the composer's attempt to grapple with the power of this awesome monument in music. Treptow was the winner of the 2005 Emre Araci Prize.

In 2011, Julian was commissioned by the Royal Society of Chemistry local section to compose a new piece of music to mark International Year of Chemistry. The resulting work, entitled A Persistent Illusion, was premiered by Hebrides Ensemble in December of the same year. In 2013, Julian Wagstaff was appointed Composer in Residence at the School of Chemistry, University of Edinburgh. His chamber opera Breathe Freely, written to commemorate 300 years of chemistry at Edinburgh, was premiered in Edinburgh's Assembly Rooms in October 2013, conducted by Scottish Opera's Head of Music Derek Clark in a production supported by Scottish Opera.

Julian lives in his native city, where he is active as a composer, arranger, guitarist and teacher. The composer enjoys close connections with some of Scotland's leading musicians, and his compositions and arrangements have been performed and recorded by Scotland's top ensembles, including the Edinburgh Quartet, the Scottish Chamber Orchestra, the Royal Scottish National Orchestra, Consort of Voices and Hebrides Ensemble. He is published by Europa Edition, and is a member of the Scottish Music Centre, the British Academy of Composers and Songwriters and PRS for Music. His music appears on the Circular Records label. Julian Wagstaff writes, records and performs rock music under the name Jules Reed.

Julian is co-author of the Guitarmaster music transcription software application and, outwith the world of music, the translator of a number of published books and the principal developer and designer of the NISAT database of Small Arms Transfers for the Peace Research Institute, Oslo (PRIO), the largest public database on the arms trade in the world.

click the buttons below to visit Julian's profiles on SoundCloud, MySpace, Facebook, the British Academy of Composers and the Scottish Music Centre:

Listen to Julian Wagstaff on SoundCloud